Grant County, IN
Grant County, IN
Nixle Most Recent Alerts
Emergency Management Agency
Grant County EMA
401 S. Adams Street
6th Floor
Marion, IN 46953

Office hours: 8 a.m.-4 p.m. Mon-Fri
Office: 765-651-2410
Fax: 765-668-4228

Bob Jackson, Director
Amanda Simmons, Deputy Director
Julie Pattison, Admin. Assistant

Local Emergency Planning Committee

The perils of today’s world require governments to be better prepared to deal with emergencies than ever before. Regardless of the nature of the emergency, state and local governments must respond efficiently and effectively on short notice.

At the local level, each county or other jurisdictional unit maintains a Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC). The LEPC reports directly to, and is a subunit of, the Indiana Emergency Response Commission (IERC) and has specific duties, mandated by law.

The Grant County Emergency Planning Committee, hereinafter referred to as the "Committee," is a state entity created pursuant to SARA Title III, the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act of 1986. The committee has been appointed by the Indiana Emergency Response commission as a special State Appointee. The primary purpose of the Committee is to implement SARA Title III in Indiana, but its broader purpose is to enhance environmental protection and public health and safety as these are affected by chemical hazards in Grant County.
The Grant County Emergency Plan for Hazardous Material Incidents, Grant County Hazardous Analysis and all information filed by covered facilities may be inspected in the Emergency Management Agency  Office between the hours of 8:00am and 4:00pm.  Quarterly meetings are open to the public and are attended by the following emergency responders, governmental agencies, local industry, and others who share a concern about chemical safety in Grant County. Directions to join the meeting remotely, Grant County Public Meeting - Webex Instructions

 General Info
Location Grant County EMA
401 S Adams
Marion, IN 46953
Contact InformationAdministrative
Grant County EMA Offices

Grant County Sheriff Dept
911 or 765-662-9836
Document Location Grant County EMA
401 S Adams
Marion, IN 46953 

Patrick Kolb Chairperson
Paul David Vice Chair
Dawn Harness Secretary
Bob Jackson
Community Emergency Coordinator

The Congress of the United States has enacted the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA) to benefit local communities throughout America. Two goals within the Act are:
  1. to provide the basis for each community to develop and tailor a chemical emergency planning and response program to suit its individual needs
  2. to provide the public with the identity, quantity, location and properties of hazardous substances located within each area. 

The Indiana State Emergency Response Commission has designated a group in each of Indiana's counties who will carry out these tasks. This group is known as the Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC), and our function is to serve as the liaison between industry and the community.
LEPC Meeting Agendas & Minutes
2019 - Click here to expand for the document listing
2018 - Click here to expand for the document listing
2017 - Click here to expand for the document listing
2016 - Click here to expand for the document listing